The increasing availability of personalized medicine promises to tailor treatments to an individual's genetic makeup. What are the potential benefits and ethical concerns surrounding personalized medicine? How might it change healthcare in the future?

Personalised medicine is a controversial subject. While tailoring a person’s genetic code seems revolutionary for the future of healthcare, it also raises both ethical concerns and healthcare costs. Personally, I lean towards the skepticism surrounding it rather than the success it could bring.

Genetic engineering can pave the way to effective and targeted therapies. It can showcase the many issues the human body can have and then alter it. It is understandable why many believe this is a major breakthrough. People that struggle from birth due to their genetics can finally be treated. They no longer have to feel left behind. This is something worth celebrating as any breakthrough in healthcare is huge step towards the progression of humanity.

However, reality can be different. Healthcare is privatised in some areas, the rich benefit more than the poor with breakthroughs in healthcare. More expensive technology will be used, which can rack up healthcare costs. Not even the middle-class could afford it if this continues. In addition, the issue of where to ‘draw the line’ is also a factor that must not be ignored. If life-saving medicine can be patented and sold, personalised medicine is no different. The rich could be paying for babies to have exact features they desire, erasing what makes us unique. People have been discriminated in the past for their genetics not suiting social standards, it could only get worse with the rise of gene editing.

Overall, while tailoring treatments for personalised therapies can be beneficial and result in improved healthcare. It can also further divide the people by increasing the gap between the rich and the poor. Regulatory bodies needs to be aware of this rapidly advancing treatment and be prepared to regulate it to prevent the abuse of it.