The increasing reliance on automated systems and artificial intelligence in the workplace is leading to concerns about job displacement and the future of work. Do you believe that the benefits of automation outweigh the potential drawbacks for the workforce?

Technological prosperity has resulted in a high dependency on automation in a wide range of fields. The positive side of automated systems is a potential to boost the work perfomance due to a better time management and minimization of error occurence. However, there is also an adverse impact, which is the possible rise of unemployment and the declined proficiency of labour. To alleviate the negative aspects, the qualification enhancement courses for workers must be incrorporated by the companies.

To start with, the use of automation technologies is positive since it can save time and eliminate errors made by humans. Automation often implies the replacement of a monkey job. This is a monotonous work that does not require comprehensive knowledge of the subject. While this type of activities is considered one of the most time-consuming, it brings a minimum of results in contrast to the more complex work. Reduction of time allocated to such activites could save time for more useful tasks. Furthermore, passing the monkey job on automation will minimize the mistakes made by humans. The reason is that this job demands close attention and the possibility to make an error is at the peak during its execution. For example, according to the Microsoft’s annual task achievement report, the major share of deviations were caused by the incoincidences in the monotonous work.

On the other hand, it can be argued that technology development can grab the places of workers or cause the weakening of their skillset. As was mentioned before, automation is likely to replace work that does not need a deep expertise in some subjects. That is why large part of labour force that is not proficient enough to exceed the performance of technological innovations is likely to loose their jobs. In addition, there is also a possibility that delegation of simple work to devices will lead to the declined level of expertise of employees. One of the vivid examples is the incorporation of AI that resulted in almost twice lower grades of workers of Bazis-A company, according to the compulsory test on subject-knowledge for the engineering specialists in Kazakhstan.

The main mitigation of the listed negative effects is the incorporation of mandatory qualification enhancement courses. This will sove both of the unpleasant issues: imporved proficiency of labour will overcome the skillset of technologies and avoid their degradation.

To sum up, there are both positive and negative consequences of technological development. Although automation is likely to optimize the time and decrease the errors, it can also result in higher unemployment and lower abilities of workers. This can be alleviated by addition of skill improvement courses.