The increasing use of mobile phones and computers makes people lose the ability to communicate face-to-face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is considerable debate about the negative effect of using technology. While using smartphones to communicate with others has become increasingly popular, it brings both advantages and disadvantages. This essay will partially agree with this view before drawing a conclusion.

One major disadvantage of using technology to communicate is the lack of social interactions, which can lead to social isolation. In other words, it is notable that teenagers and children have started replacing face-to-face connections with online communication. Moreover, overdependence on social media contributes to misunderstandings between people, due to the absence of body language, such as, eye contact, and empathy. As a result, it may affect personal relationships negatively. Another important disadvantage of social media is its impact on the amount of time people spend which can lead to lose their real identity, for example the majority of internet users may create a new personality to hide their weaknesses. While using smartphones and computers has advantages, it also presents significant drawbacks that should be managed.

On the other hand, technology can also have positive impacts on communication. Firstly, it helps in breaking geographical barriers; for example, many people work far away from their families, and social media has facilitated communication, making it more realistic and faster than writing letters, which take a long time to reach. Moreover, social media can help speechless people to communicate and find suitable people to communicate with, for instance, sometimes teenagers feel their parents and community misunderstand them, thus they prefer to isolate themselves and create their own community on social media.

In conclusion, while there are valid arguments on both side , I believe that dependence on the internet to communicate is a negative development. Although it has many positive perspectives, the disadvantages outweigh the advantages. Overall, it is clear that social media has major impact on modern life.