The increasing use of mobile phones and computers makes people lose the ability to communicate face-to-face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s digital age, some people believe our social lives predominantly conducted through electric devices leading to decrease in face-to-face interactions. While advanced technologies might seem inefficient means of communication, I believe that it brings positive outcomes to daily lifestyle of people.

On the one hand, face-to-face interactions would become primary means of communication. However, due to the high usage of telephone and computers in our every day of life, they are no longer available to keep social relationships and reducing the quality of in-person relationships, result in feeling of interpersonal detachment. Moreover, as human beings are inherently social creatures, the absence of face-to-face interactions in social life can foster feeling of loneliness and isolation. While video calls and online chats mitigate this to extent, they cannot replace the real communicating atmosphere. For instance, many people, especially young generations may find it difficult to engage effectively in social events and leading loss of confidence in front of individuals.

On the other hand, despite its potential negative impacts, electronic devices have considerably shifted our communication style by allowing us to stay connected with relatives, friend across geographical distances. Telephone and computers not only expanded communication, but also it creates opportunity to participate online international meetings and lessons which makes the learning process productive and engaging. For example, Students have accessibility to participate online courses such as Coursera, Ibrat academy which are well-known by its well-qualified international teachers. As a result, mobile phones and computers allow people to maintain communication.

In conclusion, although the increasing the use of phones and computers has reduced the quality of some face-ti-face interactions, I do not fully agree that it makes people lose this ability completely. In my view, the negative effects appear mainly when technology is used excessively and without balance.