The increasing use of mobile phones and computers makes people lose the ability to communicate face-to-face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the modern era, the issue of the overuse of mobile phones and digital tools in technological proliferation has become a controversial topic for discussion. While many commentatos have begun to debate that this phenomenon could foster the lose of capacity to in-person communication, I partly agree with the idea. In this essay, I will outline the factors for my opinion.

From an overall perspective, there are a couple of principel reasons why I support the view. The primary reason would be that people gradually lose the sense of face-to-face communication. This can be explained by the fact that people is facing a phenomenon called ‘digital immersion,’ such as spending more time to text or call through their phones or computer instead of in-person meeting which lead to weak social skills. In addition, the virtual connectivity of smartphones and computers also causes emotional chasm. To explain, if people tend to rely on virtual communication, this will lead t interpersonal attachment with others. By texting in apps, people do not have the ability to understand partners’ emotion because of the lake of emotional authenticity.

Looking at the alternative viewpoint, there are a number of reasons why I am not favor in the view. First of all, compared to face-to-face communication, the virtual connectivity is flexible to anyone. Despite having physical separation, people is also able to remain connected with their family and friends. Consequences, by accessing phones and computers, they can have online constant meetings. Another reason that I do not support the view is that whether people lose their communication depend on how they use the digital tools. For instance, if they can balance online and face-to-face communication, their social skills will be hard to be negative affected.

In conclusion, it can be said that this topic has become a complex issue that provokes strong reactions in both arguments. As people is living in a technological era, not only does the use of digital tools stimulate communication is flexible, but it also brings some negative sides such as loss of the sense of in-person communication and superficial relationships. To my personal view, people should balance inonline and face-to-face communication.