The internet allows us to stay connected with each other no matter where we are. On the other hand. It also isolates us and encourages people not to socialize. To what extent do you agree or disagree with these statements.? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The internet connects us all together despite the location we are at but, at the same time it isolates us and makes people antisocial. I completely agree with this because, people now have more unknown online friends but, only a few real well known ones. This has also resulted in the increased number of introverts in the society.

There are a wide range of communication platforms online, which intend to connect people across the globe. However, these facilities have a negative effect on people, of refraining them from socializing. This is clearly reflected in their poor social life. They generally spend a majority of their time conversing with strangers in social media and therefore, miss out on the time left to talk with their actual peer group. Similarly, at certain job settings, the employers are made to communicate for hours using the web, with workers abroad. This naturally drains their social battery. For example, statistics reveal that 60% of Information Technology professionals have an unhealthy social life.

Furthermore, this causes personality changes among the general population. The previous internet-free world enabled people to be dependent on each other for all kinds of needs. The change in this scenario, after the introduction of social media has made people more independent and conservative. Even school going children prefer to play online games rather than playing with other children around. Such alterations have made the younger population become introverts. For instance, a recent blog about team work in school read that, the majority of the students were found to have difficulty in working as a team and ended up not participating.

To conclude, though internet has allowed us to make bonds with people far away, it definitely has cut down nearby ties.