The Internet has caused people to be isolated from their real lives. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often thought that the Internet may affect the social behavior of its users and isolate them from their surroundings. From my perspective, I totally agree with this statement for several reasons.

One reason is that the users of networking might become addicted as they would spend many hours in front of their screens. To illustrate, Internet is a time-eating technology in which people sometimes lose their valuable time just scrolling and streaming useless pages, images or videos. Consequently, they might not be able to have time to meet with their family members and engage with them in other activities, such as household work, strolling and taking care of the house garden. Therefore, the Internet users usually feel isolated/separated and that they are not a part of a real family.

Another reason to consider is that sitting in front of screens for long times and preferring this sedentary life could have many physical and psychological adverse effects. Being glued to screens for a long time might cause eyesight problems in addition to gaining weight due to the diminished physical activities, such as running walking and exercising. Furthermore, several psychological impacts could happen, including the loss of social skills and the ability to communicate with people. what’s more, people might be more aggressive or violent due to miscommunication and isolation from their immediate surroundings. As a consequence, the heavy Internet users might tend to be isolated from others, resulting in depression and other psychological complications.

By way of conclusion, I hold the notion that the Internet might cause several psychological and physical complications including isolation from real life and eyesight problems.