The internet has changed way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development Others believe that social media have negative effects.

The effect of communicating online is debatable. Some believe it is an advantageous development whereas others argue the contrary. This essay will discuss both opinions and prove that online communication is a beneficial advancement.

On one hand, it is without a doubt that online communications will reduce the actual talking. If children and parents give up their chatting and calling online, more actual conversation and interaction between people will occur. Furthermore, using online methods will result in more screen time. According to a survey from Stanford, 80% of people after using their phone for texting and phone calls will then keep on using it for other purposes.

On the other hand, the concept is praised for its advantages compared to traditional methods. First, the internet has sped up conversations by a huge margin. Had it not been for the fast internet across the globe, businesses would have to wait for days to receive information about their projects on the other side of the Earth. Secondly, texting is sometimes regarded as an instant note-taking method with each line and sentence sent to other people being a record for future reference, whereas talking would require humans to memorize the details of the conversation. Finally, there are hardly any boundaries to limit the connections of people across nations. Therefore, nations can now share their culture and technological advancement within a blink.

In conclusion, although communicating through social media may have some drawbacks of reducing actual talking while increasing screen time, I believe its benefits outweigh the disadvantages.