The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what are the possible solutions?

It is true that with the invention of the Internet, accessing and spreading information have dramatically changed. Although several major problems have arisen as a result of these changes, some steps can be taken to deal with them.

One concern in terms of sharing information is that it has led to the violation of privacy. Today, the information is increasingly stored digitally rather than physically, which may result in users’ emails and/or bank accounts falling into the hands of criminals. This issue usually occurs due to using unreliable passwords and entering websites vulnerable to hacking. Although it is impossible to prevent all identity thefts, online users may take some precautions. For example, they can make their passwords more complex, use VPN to hide personal information, and log into trustworthy websites. These simple actions should protect the private data from cybercriminals.

Regarding the consumption of information, one pressing problem is the ease with which children can access potentially dangerous sites. Take an example of pornography websites. Despite imposing age restrictions, they can be easily accessible to children who can register with a site and claim to be an adult. Research has shown that children who consume such unsuitable content frequently have increased levels of self-objectification and sexual violence, which undoubtedly affects their psychological development adversely. To mitigate such exposure to explicit online content, governments should ensure that adequate legislation and controls are in place that will prevent young people from accessing dangerous sites. In other words, they ought to require more than simply confirming that they are adults to view a site.

In conclusion, two of the main information-related issues that the Internet age has created are the vulnerability of data and easy access to dangerous sites. However, with the right action by individuals and governments, it can be made a safe place for everyone.