The internet is a source of information and has opened up opportunities for people to learn all over the world. Is all information on the internet reliable? What could be done to control information online?

One of the widely discussed issues nowadays has been related to the information that is provided by internet, whether is reliable or not. Additionally, some also argue about the way of controlling it. Personally, I consider that internet resources have to be sorted out in order to not to get misinformed.

First of all, the answers about the reliability of information on the internet can vary person to person and of course it depends on the source of it as well. However, I do not believe that internet has always been the only trustworthy place to get knowledges from. This could be explained by the fact that not everything online is published by the researches and scientists, which means that information is not always correct, but it is some people’s opinion one the situation. Hence, there are some cases when people get harmful because of this kind of disinformation, for example traditional medicine is all around the internet, but it has never been on the same level of efficiency as evidence-based medicine. As a result, it can be very harmful for society and people.

Secondly, not every internet content can be controlled and get screened every time it is posted. So, the optimal decision in this given problem probably would by spreading awareness about checking the information whether is reliable or not. This would help educating population about the critical thinking and would also increase people’s understanding of it in society. For example, in the recent years people in Kazakhstan, mostly youngers started to build an interest toward skincare and dermatology in general. It can be noticed that girls and boys are more into searching for reliable sources like doctors’ recommendations and specialized people’s information, rather than some type of undefinable cosmetic sellers. Thus, it helps people to stay more conscious about their health.

To sum up, I take the view that not everything that we see on the internet is proved scientifically, since they are not written and published by researchers. Hence, in order to shorten the impact of these unnecessary information, responsible authorities should spread awareness among the people.