The main reason that people work hard is to make money. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, the main motivation for the majority of people to work is to receive a salary. I definitely agree with this view, as work guarantees financial stability and achieving material goals.

The main argument in favour of the idea that many people work hard to earn money lies in the financial stability that the employment can provide. The majority of people work to fulfill their basic needs, such as food, clothes, and housing. In general, many employees face difficulties in meeting these needs, especially in poorly developed countries in Africa and South Asia, where wages are extremely low. People from these regions tend to work in various position simultaneously in order to receive decent salaries. Hence, hard working is the only way to maintain the comfortable lifestyle.

Another huge argument is that by hard working employees can achieve their material goalds. Individuals with high incomes are able to afford improved housing, private transportation, travel opportunities, and quality education for their children. Usually, the desire to live a luxurious life in the future is a stronger motivation that pursuing childish hobbies and dreams. Therefore, many people abandon their true career aspirations in favour of jobs that offer higher wages. For instance, I have never had aspirations to study Economics; however, I decided to major in Economics in order to achieve a higher standard of living in the future.

In conlusion, advantages such as financial stability and the chance to reach material goals are often the main reason for people to work hard.