The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

As we evolve, so does our health. Humans have invented healthcare from scratch, starting with brewery and herb treatments. Since then, hospitals have been built and drugs have been synthesized. Today, well-being institutions are more accessible than ever. Surprisingly, people’s standards have dropped with the availability of treatment, prevention, and cure.

Survival of the fittest tells us that to avoid extinction, we must avoid death; therefore, all generations that lived to access healthcare already possess the survival gene. Unfortunately, we are growing dependent on artificial aid and losing our natural immunity. Although medicine will continue to develop, the average human body will become lazy. Before the existence of healthcare, people used to heal naturally. On the other hand, even the simplest of illnesses need urgent medical attention.

Pharmaceutical advancements have also caused a drug addiction epidemic. Painkillers such as Panadol and Fevadol are used to relieve mild fever pain, preventing the body from naturally combatting the disease. Symptom management has never been easier, but dependency is never healthy.

This does not mean that the human race is doomed for eternity. Researchers are aware of this dilemma and are taking their next steps accordingly. Doctors and other professionals are developing treatments and vaccines that enhance the natural immune system rather than shutting it down completely. If the right steps are taken, health standards should not drop.

In conclusion, healthcare is the best upgrade and the worst obstacle humans have faced. If the medical industry proceeds with caution, it will continue to serve us. If not, it will end us.