The most important aim of science should be to improve people's lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

In contemporary society, some people believe that the imperative purpose of science is to enhance humans’ life. From my perspective, such a notion legitimate.

What many scientists are currently trying to explore the surface of the moon and the origin of the universe for while there are several of diseases, disasters and catastrophes threatening peoples’ lives globally. In lieu of spending an excessive amount of money on unpractical scientific breakthroughs, it could be retained for other fields to improve the quality of humans’ life. For instance, thousands of dollars were being spent on developing the nuclear weapons and, as many politicians said is to protect the nation and its citizens. Nonetheless, is it necessary to do so in a peaceful era, adversely, I firmly believe that such a maneuvor is to affirm a particular country’s dominance. If such a fortune is spent on improving the society, the social gap would be narrowed down and, medical treatments and food could get to African children who are undergoing starvation and detrimental diseases, saving hundreds of lives.

Furthermore, several scientific advancements have been recorded to be harmfully affect the quality of peoples’ lives. To elaborate, in order to obtain such accomplishments, many farmlands have been degraded, trees are cut down and fossils being burned for energy. All of which are contributing to accelerating climate change and surge of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere. An analogous era has been recorded when America and England decided to industrialize their country, resulting in a period of time when London was known as the city of fog, which was actually the emissions and pollutants discharged from the factory. Hence, certain groups and countries reaping the rewards while others are left behind.

In conclusion, I wholeheartedly agree that science should be dedicated to humans’ life, not to an individual or a certain group of people.