The planet's population is reaching unsustainable levels, and people are facing a shortage of resources like water, food, and fuel. To what consequences may overpopulation lead? In your opinion, what measures can be taken to fight overpopulation?

It’s true that the population on the Earth growing rapidly. And there are seems lack of water, food and fuel. However, I believe that educating the bad consequences of overpopulation to people might reduce the rate of birth.

On the one hand overpopulation accelerates the global warming significantly. Firstly, there will be a high demand for energy where fossil fuels increases the environment issues, such as air pollution and greenhouse gas emissions. Secondly, rapid growth causes environmental degradation. For example, there will be extinction of animals through destroying their homes to build up new facilities for people, such as accommodations, business centers and offices. Finally, the water supplies will see a decline and agricultural sectors might face job-losses due to shortage of water. In addition the number of deaths among people will increase dramatically.

There are 2 main measures that can be taken to fight overpopulation. First of all, the government should provide programs in school or colleges in order to aware of bad consequences of overpopulation. Educated people tend to have lower birth rates, therefore students will make reproductive choices before entering into adult life or before marriage. Second, there should be a gender equality among people. When women have equal rights and opportunities, they often choose to have fewer children and invest more time in their careers or in education.

In my opinion, the reduction of overpopulation is impossible in many cases, but through educative programmes this rate will be lower, also the growth of global warming will increase slowly compared to present time.