The population of many cities is growing rapidly. What are the effects on people living in these cities? What can be done to maintain the quality of life of these people?

It is claimed that the rapid boost in population in urban areas has become a pressing issue worldwide. This essay will discuss the likely effects before proposing several ways to preserve the quality of life for individuals.

One of the negative effects of increasing population in metropolises is severe traffic congestion, causing it to be time-consuming and stressful. Nowadays, transport systems in big cities are overwhelmed, resulting in overcrowding both public and private modes of transport, especially during peak hours, and roadways are often gridlocked. Moreover, the increase of vehicles such as motorbikes, cars and so on also leads to either air or noise pollution. The degradation of the environment poses a major threat to residents’ health, with respiratory illness and stress-related conditions have now become common diseases among individuals. Another factor is housing problems. With a rapid population in cosmopolis, the demand for housing tends to foster correspondingly. This leads to various housing problems including unaffordable prices and housing shortages. For example, this issue still remains in major cities consisting of New York, Tokyo, Beijing and so on. They receive a significant number of newly-migrated people to the central areas. Therefore, overpopulation in big cities pose a serious threat to the environment as well as people’s living conditions.

Although the increased size of population in cities creates many problems, there are effective ways that can be applied to reduce the severity of these issues. First and foremost, the government must protect their residents from the stress of long commutes by expanding urban planning as well as keeping green spaces untouched. Furthermore, the living standards of city dwellers will be improved and positively impacted on mental illnesses and respiratory conditions. Secondly, the authorities should relocate individuals to suburban areas to reduce serious traffic congestion and housing shortages. This can be encouraged by investing in infrastructure and facilities projects connecting the downtown and surrounding areas, making commuting easier and more efficient. Moreover, this can help people to move to affordable suburban neighborhoods.

To conclude, overpopulation in large cities creates various problems including intense traffic congestion and housing crises, with determined government efforts to preserve their residents from extended commutes and relocate them to suburban areas, these challenges can be better managed.