The position of women has changed a great deal in many societies over the past 50 years. But these societies cannot claim to have achieved gender equality.

Despite vast improvements in the position of women in society over the past half a century, we are still a bit far away from achieving gender equality. Undoubtedly, women who born in 1960s or 1970s can feel the difference in their life standards between the world they were born and contemporary world. However, they must also find familiar evidence of major inequalities.

Women in the West have made a great headway in the fields of education and employment over the past 50 years. In 1960s, most of the women had limited access to educative sources, such as universities and colleges. These restrictions made them incompatible with men, resulting in a job sector with full of men. However, currently women even more access to education than men in most of the developed countries. In school girls often out-achieve men educationally, and are entering occupations and professions that would once have been out of bounds. Female entrepreneurs often appear in TVs and competitions with their own successful startups, which have a potential to change whole ecosystem.

On the other hand, still inequalities agitate females almost in every aspect of their lives, especially in aforementioned fields. There are undeniable differences regarding the accessibility and treatment between boys and girls in schools. Generally speaking, in poor countries, girls can hardly get education because of their surroundings, family which needs to be encouraged. However, due to the lack of governmental regulations about women rights, only the boys can reach education sources, enrich their knowledges and achieve their goals by reaching their desirable positions in job field, whereas the girls grew uneducated, being dependent on their husbands, and feeling depressed till the end of their lives.

Considering the aforementioned factors, it is evident that women had made a great way by strengthening their position in society in many distinct fields including education and job market, while, in my opinion, there is still some tough challenges need to be solved in order to sustain the perfect balance between two genders.