The prompt is Some people think that children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while others believe that adults should prevent them from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

In recent times, whilst proponents assert that children should be allowed to commit mistakes freely, opponents contend that parents are responsible for wrongdoing prevention. However, I agree with the former view because this promotes their problem-solving skills and aids them to be autonomous .

On the one hand, critics emphasize that flaws should be prevented before any mental, psychological, or physical tragedies could occur. This means that when some juveniles deal with strangers, custodians ought to be cautious because they fear the risk of child abuse, whether sexually or emotionally, by an offender. For instance, in Egypt, some parents buy surveillance cameras to monitor their minors and even prevent them from socializing with the wrong people or going to certain places that could have a negative impact on them. Thus, what can be said is that these caregivers are seeking perfectionism because they feel satisfied when helping their children lead an error-free life.

On the other hand, advocates of the trial-and-error method often argue that parents cannot accompany their offspring all the time because minor mistakes during learning and growth help children acquire interpersonal skills. In other words, when young boys and girls experience new things, which is inevitable, they blunder and many valuable lessons can be learned through faults, which might not be taught by any educational method. For example, a child who got hurt by playing with fire may be more heedful in such a situation without being warned by an adult. Hence, not only can freedom in committing errors assist in rearing an independent generation, but it can also solve challenging hardships.

In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the points mentioned above, it can be reiterated that although adults should supervise the young, they should allow them to err as long as there will be no harm done to them. Therefore, I am convinced that children should not be overprotected.