The prompt is Some people think that children should have the freedom to make mistakes, while others believe that adults should prevent them from making mistakes. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

Many people believe that parents should restrict their children from making mistakes, whereas others think that children should be free. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own opinion.

There are some merits of making children free to make mistakes. First of all, children can gain new experiences from their faults. These experiences make children more prepared for their future life. As well as this, by making mistakes children can face difficult situations and they can learn how to overcome these difficulties. Thereby, they can improve their soft skills such as communication, adaptability and problem solving. To illustrate, research shows that individuals who had more freedom in childhood have better both ability to deal with people and critical thinking skills.

However, preventing children from faults has also some advantages. By discouraging children from making mistakes parents can prevent them from damages to both mental and physical health. Sometimes these damages can cause irreversible results for children’s health. One good illustration of this is research conducted by University of Michigan shows that, most of the people’s traumas resulted from less parental supervision. As well as this, if children are prevented from making mistakes they can gain good habits at a young age and it can cause satisfying results on their social interactions.

In conclusion, I believe both sides of the argument have their merits. However, it seems that children should be free to make mistakes. This is because children can learn crucial knowledge and valuable skills from their faults.