The research indicates that nowadays some consumers are less influenced by advertising than in the past. What are the reasons and is it a positive or negative development?

The question of whether at the moment a large number of consumers are more independent in buying something than in the past, in which they had to base on advertising to purchase products is a prominent issue that attracts much attention. Personally, I think that this development is beneficial and I would provide reasons in this essay.

One major reason for this trend is the accessibility of information online through using the Internet, chatting flexibly with chatbots thanks to advances in digital literacy. People connect initiatively to absorb credible sources of information. Therefore, the influence of targeted advertising will be considerably declined. Instead of receiving products’ materials from marketing in the past, buyers can now make independent decisions thanks to social networks.

Nowadays, chatting with advisors or chatbots provides tailored recommendations, enabling people to make more purchasing decisions that align with their preferences and financial conditions.

Another contributing factor is that some people in developed countries usually tend to be skeptical of marketing and believe in real experiences from their neighborhood or close community members. For instance, when deciding whether to buy a product or use a service, my mother may prefer listening to recommendations from peer recommendations and reading detailed user reviews on platforms like Amazon rather than relying solely on online reviews or advertisements before purchasing.

In conclusion, as people around the world are less affected by advertising, I believe that this is a positive development as it empowers consumers to make more informed and independent choices when going shopping.