The rise of convenience foods has helped people keep up with the speed of the modern lifestyle. What are the advantages of this trend? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, fast and semi-prepared foods are a great help for many people to maintain the fast and busy pace of life. While they are convenient and allow consumers to have more time to do their work, I would argue that these are outweighed by the disadvantages.

On the one hand, foods such as hamburgers, pizza, or packaged rice can be consumed within minutes without requiring much effort or time. Work has become extremely busy in the current days, so people usually only have a short amount of time to have their breakfast or lunch. Therefore, by having fast foods they will be able to do their work without having to skip meals. For example, some companies start their business at 8 am but most people wake up at 7 am, leaving only 1 hour to prepare as well as going to the company. In this case, buying prepared food is very convenient because they can have it on the go.

Despite some clear benefits to convenience foods, I strongly believe that these are not enough to overcome the drawbacks. Firstly, the high level of sugar and fat in fast foods could result in severe health issues such as diabetes or being overweight, which is one of the biggest drawbacks to it. For instance, various researchers have pointed out that there is a strong connection between fast food and overweight people, so people should avoid consuming it as much as possible to maintain a healthy life. Additionally, while eating convenience foods can make people feel full and give them enough energy to proceed with their work, the level of nutrients from it is not sufficient for most people, which leads to a lack of vitamins and other important minerals.

To conclude, it is undeniable that fast foods are convenient for people to consume because it does not cost them too much time. However, the health issues caused by consuming it would be enough to outweigh those benefits.