The shopping habits of people depend more on their age group than on any other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

It’s often argued that people’s shopping habits depend mostly on their age group. However, I personally disagree with this opinion as I believe that society, family, and friends play a more significant role, whilst age may have some impacts, but it’s not the biggest factor.

First of all, shopping habits are more likely to be changed by social factors rather than age. For instance, friends have a major impact on making decisions, especially among the teenagers and young adults, which means many young people buy similar brands or products because their friends do. As an example, a teenager might be feeling ashamed as he doesn’t have the latest fashion trend. Moreover, family also plays a big role in shaping this shopping behavior. For example, parents can set a financial boundaries and impact on their children’s behavior, making person’s shopping habits dependent on their society rather than just their age.

However, it can be argued that age impacts on shopping behavior because people in different age groups buy different things. For example, elders buy depending on practicality while youth depends on style and trends. Furthermore, statistics show that people who are 15-25 have similar shopping habits despite of their age because they are mostly influenced by social media and trends around their peers.

In conclusion, I would say that even if age may have some impact on shopping habits, I believe that society plays a more significant role.