The shopping habits of people depend more on their age group than on any other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Many people argue that age is a more powerful determinant of individuals’ shopping habits than other factors. I completely agree with this opinion because it can profoundly influence shopping habits through generational vogues and technological adaptation.

The primary reason why age wields more influence on individuals’ shopping habits is because of generation-specific fashion and trends. Each age group belongs to a specific fashion and trend, which exerts enormous influence on their shopping habits. In simple words, particular lifestyles and preferences evolve as people age; this in turn creates a profound impact on their shopping habits. In consequence, individuals from different age groups put emphasis on different priorities while making a decision on purchase. Someone in their twenties, for example, may give more focus on fashionable or trendy clothes, while someone in their forties gives a high priority on quality and durability.

Another compelling reason why shopping habits are largely formed by age is technological adaptability. Age can also deeply influence shopping habits through technological adaptability. That is to say that every generation has its own pace of adoption of technological advances, which also wields influence on building their particular shopping habit. For instance, people who grew up with digital technology tend to buy from online platforms using digital payment methods. They are usually comfortable embracing the latest technologies, like smart home appliances or voice assistant devices, therefore influencing their buying habits. In contrast, older people who may be less comfortable with technology are more likely to purchase from conventional brick-and-mortar stores.

To conclude, I believe that age is a more crucial factor in shaping how individuals shop because different age groups have different levels of fashion trends and technological adaptation.