The shopping habits of people depend more on their age group than on any other factors. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The debate about individuals’ buying practices always centres on whether these change as they grow. I partially agree with this because people do consider their age when shopping, but their buying decisions also depend on other factors such as gender, location, and wealth.

On the one hand, age is a key factor in deciding what to purchase; it plays an important role when people are buying new outfits. They shop by age group and find suitable clothing for each. An old man or woman would never like to wear a tight-fitted or glamorous dress designed for a young woman; rather, they would prefer something comfortable and easy to carry. This not only ends with the clothes they wear but also the food they eat. Despite everyone having personal food choices, it mainly depends on age: young people love junk food, while elderly individuals prefer easy-to-digest foods.

On the other hand, there are plenty of other factors supporting the choice to shop. One’s gender plays a vital role in deciding what to buy. There are dedicated sections for men and women where they find items, whether it’s clothing, shoes, or accessories, specific to their needs. For instance, one would never encounter a men’s section displaying hair accessories, makeup, jewelry or handbags. Along with this, residence and finances also define one’s choices. It depends on whether they have access to the item they are looking for and, if available, whether they can afford it. Thus, individuals’ status plays a significant role in their shopping choices.

To conclude, individuals decide their shopping list primarily based on age group, yet they must also consider their gender, affordability, availability, and many other factors.