The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays the television channels hold a tendency to telecast social or political problems more instead of portraying commendable developments. That is why it is contemplated by many people that this kind of attitude of the media could pose detrimental impacts on the general citizens in a country. In the light of the reality, I strongly agree the given statement.

At the first glance, negative information and emergencies more consumed by the audience, people would be terrified and panicked easily. For illustration, during the Covid-19 outbreak, the television channels propagated the global health crisis more instead of informing people about the cautions of the contagious disease. Moreover, if we are only obsessed with problem-related discourses, it would be difficult to churn out empirical solutions. For instance, the narratives of politics, which are argumentative most of the time, are demonstrated by the channel owners, but they do not recommend any sustainable solutions to diminish the political difference among various parties.

Furthermore, if an issue is highlighted as a forthcoming concern, positive awareness cannot be achievable at any cost. For example, many people are frustrated about the consequences of individuals’ dependence on artificial intelligence; however, the media does not emphasize how the modern cutting-edge could harness human beings’ lives in future. Lastly, the press could play a remarkable role by showcasing social cohesion and inter-religious connectivity in a community. However, it is a matter of sorrow that the journalists seek to let people down by portraying negativity through which people could be hopeless in terms of anticipating a peaceful circumstance.

Hence, by the way of conclusion, I reaffirm that if crisis or dilemmas are always illustrated on the media rather than focusing on positive trends, it could cause hazardous to the dwellers in a society as a whole.