The tendency of news reporters in the media to focus more on problems and emergencies than on positive developments is harmful to the individuals and the society as a whole. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

So problematic has the news reports tendency to focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive news become nowadays that it is believed it would bring harm to either individuals or their society. Personally, I tend to disagree with this issue to some extent, on which we shall elaborate further below.

Perhaps, the problems and urgent issues which are reported by the media have advantageous impacts for persons and society. First, the viewers would gain new information about the current problems. Thus, it is believed that they could easily anticipate and take measures as soon as possible. For example, the media often reports the news related to natural disasters such as volcanic eruptions, earthquakes, tsunami or etc. This helps consumers know how to better prepare in order to keep safe when having the same incidents. Moreover, it feels that the media provides awful stories like poverty, discrimination, gender issues and so forth, which can escalate awareness of citizens and government. Hence, the people who get into incidents would obtain support from society or stakeholders.

I do appreciate people who think differently, saying that excessive negative development in broadcast reports has negative impacts in terms of behaviour of viewers, when they are often exposed by bad things in the media such as murder, children kidnapping, or robbery. These would be loss of trust with strangers.Therefore, it would probably affect hardship in interpersonal relationships.This is not to say that this possible impact is not considered. However, building interpersonal relations in society can be through social communities or volunteering. So, the more negative broadcasts emerge, the bigger opportunities for society to have wide knowledge and take measures for seeking the solutions are.

To conclude, regardless of the possible negative effect of news reports considered above, it seems to me that the media has good reports for all issues owing to becoming more and more knowledgeable so that viewers understand what they will do.