The use of mobile phones is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phones should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the use of cell phones is as harmful as smoking, and usage of cell phones should not be allowed in public places. This essay agrees with the statement that the usage of cell phones influences people to remain more in the virtual world of social media rather than enjoying the moment with their friends or loved ones. Apart from being stuck in social media it also exposes them to some serious security risks.

One of the main reasons for restricting the use of mobile phones is people are more invested in consuming social media instead of living in the moment and having an uninterrupted experience of the place they are at. This sometimes also affects the experience of other people who want to spend some quality time. For example, some people tend to use their cell phones in movie theater halls while a movie is being played, due to this behavior, other people suffer as the bright smartphone screen lights up the cinema halls.

Nowadays, a lot of public places offer free wifi and this makes users vulnerable to vicious security threats. The scammers keep a tap on the free wifi network and try to hack people’s smartphones by installing malware software without their permission and stealing sensitive information like bank account details, e-mail IDs, and passwords. For example, there was an incident that happened at a cinema hall in New York with a bank’s senior employee, his cellphone was hacked, and his sensitive bank credentials were exposed to the scammers. One of the solutions to prevent such situations is that the venues or public places should not provide free wifi.

In Conclusion, Like smoking cigarettes, the usage of cellphones not be allowed in public places as this hampers the experience of the people, and makes them vulnerable to serious security threats.