The use of technology has made life more convenient, but also less personal. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Majority believe that technology provides people a comfortable lifestyle, while others argue that the development of modern innovation leads to the leakage of private data. This essay argues that the benefits of technological advances surpass its drawbacks. It will first suggest that technology provides improvements in education and work, as well as ensures time saving, and secondly, the shortcomings are quickly eliminated.

To begin with the privileges: technology simplifies life in many aspects such as education, work or science, and also saves time on most daily tasks. Computers dispose of paper waste, the Internet facilitates communication. People can order necessary goods, even food online without leaving the house. Clothes and dishes are washed by washing machines, food can be heated in a microwave oven. Moreover, technological advancements have transformed the education system and work processes. As evidence, students now can study online via Zoom or Teams platforms, in addition they have access to digital libraries to find necessary content anywhere in the world. Similarly, remote working provides employees with a work-life balance that improves productivity.

However, it cannot be denied that there are some drawbacks such as risk of data breaches. Although, this issue has been resolved by cybersecurity professionals. So, many companies are invested in secure systems. For instance, as Microsoft’s Authenticator program, which does not allow its employees to send company information through other networks, only via official mail or other products of Microsoft.

In conclusion, there are some concerns about loss of privacy, however, technology has been evolving faster and minimising negative consequences. Its advantages, convenience and improvements are outweighed its shortcomings.