The world is consuming natural resources faster than they can be renewed. Therefore, it is important that products are made to last. Governments should discourage people from constantly buying more up to date or fashionable products. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The overconsumption of natural resources means that products have to be made to last longer. One suggested remedy for this problem is the discouragement from constantly buying trending products by government. I completely disagree with this assertion as I believe that despite its detrimental effects on the environment, purchasing up-to-date or fashionable products should not be discouraged.

Admittedly, if government-led measures that aim to reduce compulsive purchasing behavior can be implemented, consumers will likely reduce their consumption of such products, leading to the reduction of natural resources consumption. One crucial way to do this is by taxation. Luxury items such as fine wines and designer garments are usually taxed heavily, and as a result, consumers are deterred from buying such products. In addition, they can financially subsidize green businesses provided that they manufacture their products using environmental-friendly materials which can last for a long time. Such support would likely catalyze the growth of these companies, fostering green manufacturing practices and consumption.

However, I firmly believe that government restrictions on purchasing trending items should not be avoided as it can yield significant benefits. Firstly, taxes generated from these types of products can be used to enhance living conditions for their citizens. This means that many rural areas can benefit from quality health care and education services without having to relocate to urban areas, and so alleviate overpopulation problems. Secondly, many exclusive fashion releases attract thousands of tourists annually, particularly during fashion weeks. These events significantly boost local economies through increased spending on accommodation, dining, and retail.

In conclusion, although curbing excessive spending on trending products can alleviate the natural resources crisis, I believe that governments should not discourage people from obtaining such products as they can reap significant financial benefits from it.