There are those who consider work to be the paramount aspect of life, suggesting that without career success, life loses its meaning. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the era of modernization and globalization, as there has been a surge in the population on an unprecedented scale, career success has emerged as a topic of general interest. This lead to a debate whether people will loose a motivation to live without being successful or not. Those subsequent paragraphs will discuss the demerits and merits of the controversial topic given and explain why i strongly disapprove of the notion that only when being successful can humanity find life meaningful.

There are two pronounced reasons why commenters agree that if people don’t be success in their own realm, life will lose its meaning. One reason is that work success provides financial stability and security, which allow humans to grant access to basic necessities such as education, healthcare and entertainment. To exemplify, only by being financially prosperous can humankind have their own saving deposit to cover tuitions fees, hospital expenses, etc. Furthermore, being successful can bring a sense of accomplishment and fulfillment which will accumulatively contribute to humanity’s overall happiness and well-being.

Apart from the practical disadvantages expressed above, I strongly believe that career is not the only measurement of a person’s happiness of life. Firstly, it is explicit that the meaning of life is not only about being successful at work but also about many other aspects. To exemplify, life encompasses various aspects namely relationships, personal growth, and leisure activities. Those above mention expects can also be equally of critical importance for human’s overall satisfactory and fulfillment. Secondly, overemphasis on work might be detrimental to people’s health. This is because it can lead to, some issues such as burn out, stress and neglect of other paramount areas of life. As a consequence, this can lead to the situation where people lack of work-life balance and will potentially suffer from depression.

In conclusion, opponents may argue that life is only meaningful when a person attain work success, however I believe that the happier life will only come when they obtain work-life balance as well as consider other aspects of life. Government should, indeed, enact a policy to encourage the enjoyment of life regardless of work status.