There are those who consider work to be the paramount aspect of life, suggesting that without career success, life loses its meaning. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has become the norm that more and more people are inclined to prioritize a prosperous career over other aspects of life. While some people contend that a successful career is a measure of life satisfaction, I am firmly opposed to this opinion.

That focusing on a career instead of other facets of life exerts a myriad of pernicious impacts on society, which could be attributed to two main factors. First and foremost, prioritizing work over other bedrock of life is the main culprit for strained relationships. Specifically, due to hectic and bustling schedules to accomplish a plethora of tasks, workers have no other choice but to allocate less time to their family and friends. In the long term, a deficiency in relationship bonding and maintenance is blamed for invisible barriers between each other that make it hard for them to share their thoughts, which erodes their mutual understanding. Mental breakdown, in turn, would happen and pose a threat to workers in various ways. Moreover, without a shadow of a doubt, in parents’ cases, focusing on a career to reach its peak instead of sharing love with their children could accidentally hinder their development. This is based on the grounds that parents not only lay a strong foundation for their children but also be their early teachers. Children who lack sufficient education and awareness are more susceptible to various social evils, leading to increased rebellious and spoiled behaviors. Take America, for instance, which has a reputation as one of the most developed countries in the world with substantial earnings because every American employee is always dedicated and meticulous with their job instead of fostering their children comprehensively. Based on WHO statistics, the juvenile delinquency rate in America always reaches an alarming figure compared to other nations.

It is paramount to acknowledge that securing a decent job would pave the way for a stable income and higher social status. If they have a high-paying job, they can afford a more comfortable life, purchase what they want, and fulfill material demands. This is a prerequisite for an enjoyable life. However, these short-term merits pale in comparison with the demerits that they suffer in the long run. When people get old, poor family relationships and friendships cause them feelings of loneliness and disorientation.

To encapsulate, having a successful career is important in our material world, but it should not be the only factor in determining a happy existence. Excessive career focus disrupts the delicate balance of the human experience. True fulfillment lies in a holistic approach, resonating career aspirations with rich familial bonds, personal growth, and community engagement.