There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, pupils have to deal with anxiety and stress due to the significant importance of degrees. Indeed, parents and families press their children to earn competitive marks, to get the most prestigious universities. Consequently, this situation creates debate concerning educational programs due to the fact that pupils should be taught only about fundamental knowledge such as reading, writing and mathematics. These people argue that other areas could be deleted such as sport, music, cookery or art. However, I believe that it would be a mistake to remove non-academic topics from school syllabus. My essay will emphasize my views.

Firstly, there is no tie between the length of education syllabus and the academic success. The most important features concerning the ability to improve skills are the learning schemes, the autonomy of schools and the quality of teachers training. The most performing countries ranked by the OECD such as Ireland, Estonia, Finland or Switzerland keep non-scholar subjects in their academic programs. For example, Finland organizes empathy classes to prevent harassment and violence among children.

Secondly, education system must guarantee equity between pupils, despite the social gap. Schools should favorize access to different topics for every child. If unacademic had been skipped many students would have lost chances to achieve their ambitions. As a result, if topics such as sport or music were removed from educational syllabus it would be a disaster for equity between students.

To conclude, from my opinion to delete unconventional subjects from education programs can’t be an effective solution to assure academic achievement. Furthermore, this decision would increase social inequalities.