There is no doubt about that globalisation has benefited the world by bringing together people, business and nations. People who criticise it stand in the way of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We live in a global world where everything is intertwined. Globalisation has improved the flow of commerce and facilitated migration. Most will argue that the benefits outweighs the risk but there are some, myself included who see it as a setback

One of the advantages we enjoy from globalisation is the ease of doing business between countries and also individuals. The rise of online shopping is a direct effect of this. These days, you can order from websites like Aliexpress who primarily ship from china to anywhere in the world and receive in less than 72 hours or sell on places like eBay to someone else on the other side of the world. This has shown how globalisation has made transactions,although we should consider the increase in consumerism that occurs as a result.

The rise of outsourcing work to third world countries by companies is one of the drawbacks of globalisation. One could argue that it is borderline exploitative of the labour of workers in developing countries as they are usually paid significantly less than their colleagues in developed countries. While outsourcing labour is not inherently bad, it also affects the job market in the countries doing the sourcing as citizens would be robbed of jobs due to companies preferring to pay less to have the work done.

In conclusion, the benefits of globalisation can not be denied and it is crucial for the advancement of civilisation, however the side effects need to be discussed extensively and we should work toward solving them