There is no need to maintain a close relationship with distant relatives. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays people tend to live in nuclear families and they lose touch with those who stay away from them. Earlier, this was not the case as everyone used to live together and be readily available. And I disagree with the ideology of not maintaining a healthy relationship with a long-living relative as this can be considered a selfish act.

Firstly, if there are any emergencies in a house we always tend to go to our relatives for help. And they being our family members help us out no matter how far they live and how you have helped them in past. But, if we are not maintaining a good rapport with our relatives it will be hard to survive. For example, if a student living overseas doesn’t maintain a good relationship with his relatives and only contacts them when he needs money while he is abroad then they might not treat him in a good way when he is back in his home country.

Secondly, during the recent pandemic which the whole world has faced, it is quite evident that it is important to be in good relations to all our relatives because sometimes you won’t be able to see them when they are taking their last breath. For example, people like to nourish their egos and always expect the other person to make the first move or call but this doesn’t hamper the relationship but also ends it as everyone expects the same from each other. Therefore, it is important to stay humble and always do selfless gestures so that we maintain our relations.

To conclude, to live life in harmony and peace it is important to have healthy communication with everyone no matter how far they live. Live and let live.