These days, many people are shopping online instead of going to local stores. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

There is an increasing number of customers who prefer to shop online rather than going to the mall. Accessibility and time-saving are the main advantages, whereas confusing size charts and employee retrenchment are the main disadvantages.

Accessibility and swift check-out are the principal benefits of the online shopping. With online shopping, disabled people, especially wheelchair users, can pick the new outfit and get it shipped in just a few days regardless of traffic situation on the roads and transport accessibility. Furthermore, online shopping saves a lot of time because people can do it wherever. Statistics provided by Amazon demonstrate that the majority of orders were placed during the luchtime and late evening, right when the most of people are free from work.

The biggest drawbacks associated with the growing number of customers that shop online are confusing size charts and staff retrenchment. If people can try different sizes of the same piece of clothing in physical stores, it is not an option on the websites. The stores provide size charts, however, a lot of women across the world report them as misguiding and not helpful. In addition, it takes time for payment to be refunded and shipped back. Also, some marketplaces do not accept returns, which makes it even more inconvenient. As well as this, witnessing the growing trend of shopping in the internet, company chiefs fire a certain number of employees in the physical store, paying more attention to online customers. That leads to an increased unemployment and a harmful effect on economy.

In conclusion, the benefits online shopping brings to clients, such as high accessibility and time economy, must be weighed against the drawbacks, such as misguiding size charts and staff shortening.