These days more and more people are going to other countries for a significant period of time either to find a job or study. There are clearly many benefits to doing this, but people who live abroad can also face some difficulties. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Moving overseas and staying there for a long period of time in order to make money or study is becoming popular these days. Despite its benefits, living abroad is not as easy as it is seen to be. In the following paragraphs both the upwards and downwards of this concept will be discussed.

Let’s take a look at the advantages of living in a foreign country. First of all, moving abroad enables people to try different types of life in which they might get more experiences. Exchanging ideas with different people advances the general worldwide of a person. Apart from that, by moving abroad people can learn the traditions, cultures, language and local cuisine of that particular country. Moreover, for the population of some developing countries, like Uzbekistan, and the Philippines, is better and easier to find high-paid jobs in other developed countries. When it comes to job prospectives having an international acknowledgement can guarantee well-paid jobs in the future for students studying abroad.

Turning to the drawbacks, culture shock is believed to be the most common problem of living abroad. The first year of travel is an adaptation period. It is not easy to get used to a different society in a month or couple. It takes at least 3-4 months to adapt to the new surroundings. In most cases, homesickness, depression, and hatred are experienced during this period. It is a double problem if an individual does not have anyone supporting him/her in another country. Surely, it is extremely difficult to build everything from the beginning. Another disadvantage of living abroad for an extended period of time is to come back to the old life in home country. Re-adapting to the homeland’s cultural and national norms also requires months or years again.

To conclude, living abroad benefits in many ways to people’s lives, but still it has problems that can cause emotional downs. Considering all the factors listed above, I firmly believe that the benefits of studying or working abroad outweigh the drawbacks.