These days more people put their personal information, such as names, addresses and telephone numbers, online for everyday activities such as socialising on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In today’s digital era, a growing number of people opt to put their personal details, including addresses or telephone numbers, online to facilitate daily activities. In my opinion, this tendency, albeit exerting some concerns about privacy and security, makes people’s lives more convenient and connected, which will be a positive development in the long run.

Admittedly, putting personal information online may be associated with privacy and security risks. Regarding the former, once people input their sensitive details like phone numbers or dates of birth online, they must accept the fact that authorised individuals, such as website managers or digital analysts, will have access to their data. For instance, the data input on social media may be exploited for targeted advertising, creating a sense of intrusion for some users. Apart from this, people having their data input online will be susceptible to cyber threats once cybercriminals gain unauthorised access to their accounts, especially when it comes to bank accounts. Hacking, blackmail and other forms of online frauds will lead to tremendous financial losses or harmful consequences to users. However, these problems are not unavoidable, with pre-emptive measures like setting strong passwords, many users’ data are still remaining safe.

On the positive side, the merits of incorporating users’ data into online platforms are more far-reaching as compared to the mentioned preventable drawbacks. One primary merit is the increasing convenience for users. Once users add their identity details on a platform for the first registration, they can make use of one-click features like quick bank transactions or online purchases afterwards, which means they do not need to spend time writing every single piece of information repeatedly. This is especially advantageous for those who need to transfer money on a daily basis. Another notable good point of sharing personal information online is that people’s connectivity will be enhanced. This is thanks to social media algorithms which automatically analyse users’ data to suggest posts or other users that people may be interested in. As a result, it is easier for people to stay informed of current news or keep in contact with each other.

In conclusion, the fact that more people prefer to share their personal data online may be accompanied by certain problems regarding their private and secure lives. However, I believe that these problems can be avoided, thereby paling in comparison with the convenience and connectivity this trend brings about.