These days very fewer people want to become teachers, particularly in secondary schools. What are the reasons for this and how this problem can be tackled?

In the last decade, there has been a downward trend in becoming a teacher, especially in secondary schools. The number of people leaving their teaching jobs or not choosing teaching positions is rising sharply. There is no doubt that there are some significant reasons for this, resulting in educated people not selecting any type of teaching job. In this essay, I will look into these causes and try to find some solutions related to this issue.

One of the important reasons why fewer people are persuaded into teaching is the long commute between home and place of work. Over the last few years, many governments have built far more schools in more remote locations, resulting in local students having greater access to the highest educational qualities. It is evident that far more instructors are required to be sent to these rural areas, where there is no transportation system for them. The solution might be for the teachers to carpool. If they carpool, they can save money on commute expenses.

Another main cause can be the long hours of teaching. A recent study has indicated that 89% of secondary school textbooks have been changed and replaced by much tougher materials, making teachers put much more effort into preparing for their classes and even getting off work much later in the evening. For example, in my country, Turkey, teachers have to stay at school until 7 in the evening, which makes them fatigued. This problem could be addressed by sharing teaching hours between two or three teachers, which would lead to teachers not being worn down at the end of the school day.

The misconduct of students is another major cause, preventing people from becoming teachers. Nowadays, students tend to be more aggressive than their previous generations. For example, research has shown that the majority of teachers change their careers due to the bad behavior of students aged 13 and above. For instance, in Italy, teachers are even mistreated by rebellious students, who bully them whenever possible. Dealing with this problem involves imposing much stricter regulations, such as firing violent individuals.

To sum up, more and more people are discouraged from choosing a teaching position. Although the long distance, teaching hours, and students’ bad manners could be the possible reasons, carpooling, sharing work, and strict rules could be the desired solutions. The governments should take steps to tackle this crisis as soon as possible, otherwise, as I see it, our future generations will suffer a loss.