Some people believe that if a child commits a crime he or she should be punished, while others think it is the child's parents who should be punished. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an ongoing debate in the society, whether punishing juvenile offenders is the best course of action, or they should not be dealt with any punishment. However, I base the latter viewpoint as maturity level of young brains is lower than adults and further discussion on this would be held in the upcoming content of this essay.

To embark on, severity of a crime commited by an individual. To justify this further, there are myriads of crimes done by criminals, for which the type of punishment is decided on whether it is a robbery, a murder or driving illegelly. To illustrate this, sentence to death is written by law for any murder case, while immediate penalties and suspended future driving privileges are attributed for driving under the legal age. Therefore, it can be said that the young criminal can be punished on the kind of offensive activity perpetrated.

On the contrary to this, maturity of teenagers is another question in mind to think of. In other words, teen brains are still developing and punishing them severely would deteriorate their growth by the negative impact it would create on their mind. As evidence that youngsters would fall into depression resulting in prolonged inactivity or more crimes instead of being productive. Moreover, reform is possible through modes such as physical and mental rehabilitation and these could be considered for young individuals with offenses, since that would lead their lives to a positive direction. Hence, reshaping them would be an appropriate action to a developing brain.

On the basis of overall discussion, it can be undoubtedly asserted that punishing juveniles would be injustifiable as young minds are yet to mature and redirecting them would be the best choice when it comes to the crime world.