They use of security cameras has become very common. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, CCTV cameras have been widely used for security and surveillance. While this phenomenon can present certain benefits, I believe the potential drawbacks are more significant.

On the one hand, the use of security cameras can be advantageous in many ways. The most common and obvious merit of them is improved safety. If a certain area is under the surveillance of cameras, anyone with criminal intentions thinks twice before committing illegalities, realizing these technologies are filming. This, in turn, makes such places safer. What is more, CCTV cameras can also provide essential evidence for crime incidents. Those in charge of identifying criminals may use recorded footage by these cameras and track down suspects, and check their alibis. Therefore, these devices can be very helpful in crime cases.

The advantages mentioned notwithstanding, the downsides of using security cameras could be more important. Perhaps, one of the most concerning aspects of them is the invasion of privacy. Indeed, people feel uncomfortable and even oppressed when constantly watched and recorded by security cameras in public places. This would be not only against people’s will and freedom of choice but also against law accepted by many countries. Paradoxically, in an attempt to reducing crime, the installation of cameras could seem to be illegal in the first place. Moreover, over-reliance on technology may come at the expense of removing physical security measures, such as patrol policing or guards. As a result, the public may not feel safe as cameras may probably provide evidence yet cannot curb criminals with serious intentions.

In conclusion, the installation of security cameras can enhance safety levels and provide valuable evidence during grime investigation. However, they can also invade our privacy and cannot replace other measures of safety, which eclipse the positives.