Today many people do not know their neighbours in large cities. What problems does this cause? What can be done about this.

In this day and age, the number of citizens who would prefer to flock to metropolises is growing exponentially. However, it appears that almost all individuals rarely know each other due to their fast-paced lifestyles and are too busy to pay attention to their neighbours. In the following essay, I am going to discuss these issues and give some suggestions for people to tackle them.

First and foremost, not getting acquainted with people who live around you may result in feelings of social isolation and loneliness. Ancient human beings naturally lived in herds, so it’s likely getting harder for people to live alone. When someone does not communicate with others and does not have a sense of community or support system near their home, they are able to suffer from negative mental well-being. For example, in the COVID-19 period, social cohesion has decreased to the minimum levels; simultaneously, individuals who are limited in their accommodation have a tendency to encounter mental health issues like anxiety or depression. In order to curb this problem, authorities or citizens themselves ought to plan as many chances for people to converse with each other as possible and organize ceremonies to celebrate special events, for example. Such gatherings bring neighbours together, help to build a strong sense of community, and provide opportunities to promote social connections, which can be fundamentally crucial in urban areas where citizens seem not to be familiar with each other. For instance, humans in one building gathering in the garden or the main hall to have conversations on a daily basis can foster friendship and camaraderie.

On the other hand, having strong connections with inhabitants nearby plays a significant role in safety issues or emergencies. Living in a high-crime area, individuals are more vulnerable to criminal targeting if they do not have just a neighbour to ask for help. Whereas, strong neighborly relationships can enable mutual trust, vigilance, and prompt reporting of suspicious activity for others and the police. For example, if crimes are publicly wanted in Vietnam, police can easily capture them thanks to the close relationship of residents who express prompt information by word of mouth and are on high alert. Encouraging your children to play with their peers in the neighbourhood could be an effective way to get to know others’ parents as well. Families who have children could let them play with each other and strike a friendship instead of allowing children to sit in front of their computers all day long.

In conclusion, while this phenomenon causes many negative effects, such as social isolation, loneliness, or vulnerability to criminal targeting, people still have many methods to tackle it namely arranging more chances for people to communicate.