Today more and more people use a robot tasks at home and at work. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Why?

Robots have become widespread not only within the production sphere but also, they are able to perform various domestic and work tasks. To my mind, it is a double-edged sword due to the unknown consequences of the robot’s usage.

I suppose we are as humankind are still on the brink of robotic revolution, yet we are already quite aware of how advantageous a robotic helping hand can be. As for household chores, robots are capable of vacuuming and washing the floors, they can wake an owner up and even write a decent essay for a home assignment. Tech companies are developing smart homes which enable the whole system of sensors taking care of the heating, lights, locks and safety in general. People get used to being surrounded by electronic voices and signs, moreover, they are thankful for the fact that they don’t have to be in charge of everything anymore.

Nevertheless, some scientists are preoccupied that the artificial intelligence which develops with a grand velocity might overtake the power. AI is created to be constantly learning and that is an alarming issue for those who don’t want to lose their jobs. A lot of mundane routine can be outsourced to AI which creates an opportunity for employers to cut down on the paid workforce. Thus, a few occupations are on the verge of disappearing with a lot of people left unemployed. I am a witness of such a tendency in my local supermarket – 3 out of 4 cashiers have been recently replaced by their electronic counterparts.

Human beings never stop evolving which is, in my opinion, the only solution in this robotic race. Robots have come to our lives and don’t plan to leave; it is quite the opposite. People as the most flexible creatures have to adapt and learn to make the best of what they have.