Today more and more people want things instantly (eg. goods, services, news) Why is this? Is it positive or negative development?

Nowadays a growing number of individuals prefer goods, services and news coming instantly. While this trend is attributable to the quick way of life, I believe that this has a detrimental impact on people’ lifes.

One of the primary reasons why more today’s people expect things instantly is because of the boom in advanced technology. In other words, the appearance of automatic devices has made our daily life more convenient and enjoyable with one button, finger press or voice command. Moreover, the development and popularity of the internet, smartphones and social platforms have radically revolutionized how people access information and services. For instance, online shopping apps such as Shopee, Lazada or Amazon offer same-day delivery options, which satisfy customers in today’s society. Therefore, these conveniences reshaped customers expectations and fostering a culture that prioritizes speed and instant access.

However, this phenomenon towards instant satisfaction often drives several negative effects.The reason behind this viewpoint is that the emphasis on speed tends to undermine the value of essential processes requiring time and deliberation. For instance, some students in Viet Nam nowadays are learning many tricks and tips to get good marks on their test despite learning to understand and practicing many times. Similarly, in healthcare, people prefer using medication for quick solutions rather than addressing underlying health issues or changing lifestyle to preventive measures. As a consequence, this fast and immediate lifestyle is harmful for individuals’ safety and health.

In conclusion, the boom in advanced technology leads to more and more people wanting things instantly, and this lifestyle provokes numerous detrimental effects for people’ lifes today.