Today more and more people want things instantly (eg. goods, services, news) Why is this? Is it positive or negative development?

In today’s fast-paced world, the way we want something has changed. The majority of us, individuals, are not willing to wait for things like goods, news, or services. I think these are because of instant gratitude. I also think that this is a negative development due to social levels.

There are various reasons why I think people want instant service. Firstly, on a psychological level, the desire for instant gratification arises from the psychological need to satisfy cravings or achieve a sense of fulfillment as quickly as possible. Streaming platforms, for example, will allow individuals to watch the latest episodes or up-to-date matches without delay. This case is the same with our nature: when the reward to us is immediate, it fosters a positive reaction, reinforcing our preferences of outcomes without delays to delayed ones.

One potential inspiration behind this arising trend is the worldwide need. From the global perspective, the majority of people are unwilling to wait, as they have an organized schedule, forcing them to strictly follow it. Parents, for example, juggle multiple responsibilities, including work, family, and social commitments. With their limited hours a day, parents mostly focus on time-saving solutions in these cases. As a result, the worldwide individuals will save enough time for more prioritizing activities, not waiting for delayed services.

I, notwithstanding, think that this trend should be viewed negatively. One main reason for this could be the quality. In many cases, focusing on speed often leads to a poor quality of service. Take fast food as a primary example in this case, where it is much more convenient and fast compared to homemade food; however, it lacks nutritional value. This results in unsatisfactory customer rates, potentially making expanded customer rates impossible for many companies to reach.

In conclusion, while instant gratification might be the primary cause, I think that this is a negative development rather than a positive one, as it compromises potential customer satisfaction.