Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In the modern world, artificial intelligence, also known as AI, plays a key role in various operations, particularly communications, medicine, and transport systems. It is argued that tremendously depending on its consequences brings harm to people. Even if there are some drawbacks, every coin, nonetheless, always has two sides. I am firmly of the view that technology provides more benefits than hazards if we realize how to balance the use of it.

The dangers of computer technology reliance can be described as overwhelming conveniences. To the extent that we can communicate with each other, recover from sickness, and travel around in a blink of an eye regardless of the use of it, people are becoming lazier and lacking essential skills when it comes to emergency situations where we cannot rely on it. As a notable example, I must shamefully admit that I would not be able to accurately arrive at any destination these days without using Google Maps. In other words, I would always be lost and spend too much time traveling around if I was out of internet connections. Therefore, it would not be too exaggerated to say that it can be hazardous if we only depend on it.

On the other hand, since computer technology leads to more accurate results, it significantly reduces processing time and human errors. Thus, we can avoid making the wrong decisions and save more lives. Medical use, for instance, reduces a significant number of deaths through the inspections and treatments conducted by computers, such as X-raying and high-tech surgery. Therefore, it would not be overstated to say that we currently cannot live without it.

At the end of the day, digitization is an inevitable technology for everyone. It can sometimes be harmful to rely too much on it. Nevertheless, in my perspective, because it highly relates to well-being, the dangers of its dependance are far more incomparable to not using it at all.