Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Information technology has revolutionised the way in which the world operates. Critics argue that this has resulted in a dependence on computers which may be dangerous. I would argue that any danger can be addressed if adequate safety measures are implemented.

There is no doubt that recent technological developments have caused a reliance on computers. Our transport, medicine and communications systems are all now completely computer-based – and have become more efficient, more flexible and less costly as a direct result. These are massive advantages. However, there is a downside: our infrastructure has become so complex that it can now only be operated with the aid of IT and (if the computers which manage it either break down or are attacked) then our society itself is potentially at risk. There have been rising levels of cyber attacks in recent years. Cyber criminals try to become rich at our expense. Hackers and computer activists seek to acquire information about individuals, companies or governments for political reasons. Experts worry that cyber terrorists or foreign powers may even seek to destabilize a whole country by attacking its computer systems.

Finally there is an ever-growing number of viruses that can make IT devices and networks function in unpredictable ways. Governments and companies need to take these threats seriously. They can do this by spending money on making our systems secure in order to reduce the risk of such cyber attacks. Not only is it important that our systems are secure from these threats, but also that there is some means of backup in the event of any equipment malfunctioning. Machines can and do break.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that we are reliant on computers and that these computer systems are at risk, whether from open attack or breakdown. However, I would argue that the improvements to our quality of life brought by these systems outweigh any dangers and that we therefore need to focus on the security and reliability of our technology.