Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Computers have revolutionised the way how the world operates. Critics argue that these changes mean we have too much dependence on computers which it may be dangerous. I would argue that any danger can be addressed if we spend money on safety.

There is no doubt that technological developements mean that we need computers. Our transport, medicine and communications systems are all now using computers and improved a great deal as a result. The problem is that these systems can now be only operated by computers and can therefore be attack.

There were rising levels of cyber attacks in recent years. Cyber terrorists may seek to cause problems for a country by attacking its computer systems. Hackers and computer terrorists also seek to get information about individuals, companies or governments. Finally there are an ever growing number of viruses that can stop computers and networks from working well.

Governments and companies need to take these threats importantly. They can do this by spending money on making our systems secure in order to lessen the risk of cyber attacks. Not only it is important that our systems are security, but also that there is some backup in the event of any equipment malfunctioned.

In conclusion, there is no doubt that we are reliant on computers and that these computer systems are open to attack. However, I would argue that the improvements made to all of these systems outweigh any dangers and that we need to focus on the security of our technology.