Today our communications, medicine and transport systems all depend on computer technology. Our reliance on computer technology in these fields has created a dangerous situation. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

With increase in technological advancements, computers have replaced humans. This is very beneficial in certain fields but has proven quiet not helpful in other. Limiting staff in these fields can create troubles. A detailed discussion regarding the same is explained in the essay.

Computerized machines are capable of working themself, but there should be someone to operate and control them in case of any technical errors. This might require hiring of more staff in some scenarios. In certain countries they have driver-less trains which are operated by network, these are easy targets for activist to hack into and attack local people thereby creating a dangerous scenario. There are non-ethical hackers who can swipe out money from any vault by hacking into their IT systems. In Saudi Arabia, bunch of cybercriminals surpassed the firewall of an esteemed bank and stole Thousands of Dollars.

However, using machines in guided environment can be proven very helpful. For example, to perform a surgery successfully scopes, X-rays, monitoring systems, etc. can be very helpful. Number of banks have started using automated answering services to help customers promptly. Development of machinery in countries’ defense system could be very helpful as it might decrease the number of fatalities of soldiers in war.

To conclude, there are benefits of using advanced systems but there is also risk of hacking involved. Also a machine can malfunction anytime, so complete reliance on them might not be good idea, and one must learn how to complete certain tasks using old school methods.