Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to the dizzying development pace of technology, advertising has been becoming ubiquitous and accessible for all ranges of products. I agree with the statement that its effects on the consumer’s mind cannot be underestimated, but its negative social impacts are inconceivable.

First and foremost, advertisements are a constructive virtue of marketing that efficiently transfers the insight of specific products. Apparently, a radical transmission of detailed information about the products, such as manufacturing lines, materials, or possible usage, among others, given by manufacturers, can instantaneously offer in-depth understanding for customers, through watching advertisements on social platforms. In provision for this, marketers can utilize cutting-edge technical tools for creating appealing advertisements, which have catchy tunes, dissimulative messages as well as proper aesthetics. The attractive advertising forms can make a strong impression on buyers and get them inclined to purchase the items, which in turn the sales rate may undergo a pronounced upswing. From the reasons cited above, it is undeniably that advertisements can have physiological influences on consumers that entails them to precipitate the transactions.

In the second place, the advertising industry also engenders some serious problems in people’s lives despite its potential benefits. There is a mass advocate for the fact that people may be overexposed to detrimental content. To clarify, technology has accelerated the pace of conveying false information, thus customers may encounter the bombardment with misleading claims, leading to the decision of not purchasing anymore. Additionally, advertisements that perpetuate narrow beauty standards can have a deleterious impact on physical and mental well-being. Remarkably, a vast majority of cosmetic brands might be blamed for exaggerating external factors, like laying strong emphasis on physical appearance and stimulating the desire to possess luxury handbags or clothes, which may pose a threat to the customer’s physiology. In short, the assumption that the advertising industry may have a crippling effect on society, especially people’s lives, is a complex issue that enquires intertwined cooperation between consumers and companies.

In conclusion, I would put forth there are many negative effects of advertisement and they are also beneficial for both consumers and sellers. However, it can regulate our mindsets and thus, it must be controlled.