Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s society, advertising is present in every aspect of our lives, telling us what we need to be happy and successful. This has led some to believe that is essential and can potentially negatively influence their lives. In my opinion, I mostly agree with this perspective because advertising can shape our values and lead us to prioritize materialistic things over what truly matters.

To begin with, advertising plays a big role in making people think certain things are really important. We can see advertisements everywhere, on TV, magazines, billboards or broadcasts that usually show us stuff that favors material possessions, like fancy clothes or the latest devices. These ads make us believe that having them is super crucial, and maybe a measure of success. Consequently, these individuals prioritize material goods instead of cultivating meaningful relationships and other social traditional values.

Furthermore, the appearance of advertising in daily life contributes negative effects to our lives in various ways. First and foremost, advertising fosters consumerism, which creates financial burden to some people who always follow the newest shopping trend. In addition, this action can be harmful to the environment because of the overproduction and wastage of goods. Secondly, advertising sets up impractical standards about true beauty and success. For example, advertisement programs relating to beauty in Japan often use digitally created models, with supposedly perfect beauty standards. As a result, these causes low self-esteem and discontent among people who measure their lives against these unrealistic ideals.

In conclusion, I believe that the importance of advertising is undeniable and it brings many negatives to the quality of our lives. It not only makes some individuals forget realistic values but also creates personal dissatisfaction.