Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Generally, Advertising is a communication tool used to inform, persuade, and connect businesses with consumers. It is widely believed that advertising, not the real need of consumers, leads to the popularity of a product. Personally, I strongly agree with such a statement for some reasons.

Firstly, I would say that under various circumstances, influential advertisements manipulate people into purchasing something they have no need for. It is common that images of sport or entertainment celebrities would be selected for commercial purposes, inflicting huge impacts on buyers, especially their fans. For example, if Ronaldo, who is a famous football player, participated in a commercial advertisement on TV about a new product line of men’s perfumes, an enormous number of his loyal fans would buy those goods. This is because they want to be like their idols or simply it is a way to express their admiration and support.

Secondly, advertising promotes the sale of products by providing necessary information for potential customers through the means of media, particularly TV, with huge coverage. As a matter of fact, when in possession of a TV or a computer connected to the Internet, everyone would see advertisements almost everywhere, which would help them to know more specifically about desirable goods. Compared to the past, when the power of advertising would not be enough to spark attention, people now have closer access to modern commodities. Without advertising, producers would not be able to reach out to their buyers, owing to a struggle to introduce or promote their new lines of product.

In conclusion, I think advertising is factored in boosting the sales of a product in spite of the insignificance of social needs for it.